Phyletisches Museum: Showcase about Human evolution

Evolutionary Morphology

Institute for Zoology and Evolutionary Research
Phyletisches Museum: Showcase about Human evolution
Image: Manuela Schmidt

Our Research

Our research topics range from the understanding of developmental processes and the functional morphology of locomotor systems to systems analysis and modelling. We are united by a common basic understanding of morphological transformations in the process of evolution. Every change in structures and functions starts from a certain predecessor situation that sets limits to the possibility of change, in the sense of an optimal adaptation to a biological role. Our view of historical limitations (evolutionary constraints) for adaptability also shapes the transfer of our findings to various fields of application, from robotics to prevention and therapy in veterinary medicine.

Tadpole of Xenopus laevis
Evolutionary novelties
Evolution of the human skull
Acoustic communication
Visualisation of the dog model
Reconstruction & Simulation
Variation of body shape in dog breeds
Dogs in motion
The kinematics of body care
Ontogeny of locomotion and prevention of diseases

Working group

Persons and contact
PD Dr. Emanuel Andrada Email
Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Martin S. Fischer Email More info de
Dr. Paul Lukas Email More info de
PD Dr. Manuela Schmidt Email More info de
Dr. Katja Söhnel Email More info de
Dr. Heiko Stark Email More info de
Dr. Alexander Stößel Email More info de

Jena Collection of X-ray movies

Video: Martin S. Fischer / Jonas Laustroer

The Institute of Zoology and Evolutionary Research has one of the world's largest databases of X-ray videographic recordings of animals in motion. Since 1993, more than 50,000 film recordings have been made, first at the former Institute for Scientific Film in Göttingen (IWF) and since 2007 in Jena. Through the database, we make them available to the public and to research. More infoExternal link

Alumni - Old members

People and period of employment

Dr. Bettina Färber, geb. Hesse (??-??) current de
Prof. Dr. Stanislav Gorb (1998 - 1999) currentExternal link
Prof. Dr. Alexander Haas (1994 - 2002) currentExternal link
Dr. Rémi Hackert (1997 - 2001)
Dr. Egon Heiss (2014 - 2019)
Dr. Karin Lilje (2001 - 2005)
Dr. Michael Nickel (2008 - 2013)
Prof. Dr. John Nyakatura (2010 - 2014) currentExternal link
Prof. Dr. Stefan Richter (2003 - 2007) currentExternal link
Dr. Nadja Schilling (1998 - 2011) currentExternal link
Prof. Dr. Matthias Starck (1997 - 2003) currentExternal link
Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. med. Hartmut Witte (1997 - 2002) currentExternal link